Skip to main navigation.

Pickens named South Carolina’s Mr. Football for 2018

Kevin Pickens, brother of Zacch Pickens, and T.L. Hanna football coach Jeff Herron accept the 2018 S.C. Mr. Football award from Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative CEO Bob Paulling.  Zacch Pickens was participating in the Shrine Bowl and was unable to attend the award ceremony during halftime of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl.

Photo by Van O'Cain

Zacch Pickens, defensive end at T.L Hanna High School, was named South Carolina’s Mr. Football on Dec. 15 during halftime of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl in Conway.

Pickens was unable to attend the award ceremony because he was playing in the Shrine Bowl in Spartanburg. His head coach, Jeff Herron, and Pickens’s brother, Kevin, accepted the award on Pickens’s  behalf.

Pickens is committed to the University of South Carolina.

Other finalists for the Mr. Football award were Jonathan Bennett from Summerville High School, Ailym Ford from West Florence High School, Darius Tyrell Jackson from Wren High School and Wyatt Tunall from Chester High School.

The S.C. Athletic Coaches Association established the Mr. Football award in 1995. Below is a complete list of past recipients.

Year Name High School College
1995 Jermale Kelley, WR Berea    South Carolina  
1996 Kyle Young, OL  Daniel   Clemson
1997 Chris Hope, DB Rock Hill Florida State
1998 Derek Watson, RB Palmetto             South Carolina
1999 Mark Logan, QB                Greenwood Georgia Tech
2000 Roscoe Crosby, WR Union Clemson             
2001 Moe Thompson, DE Stratford South Carolina
2002 Eric McCollom, QB Camden Iowa
2003 Trey Elder, QB Byrnes Appalachian State
2004 J.D. Melton, QB Myrtle Beach Navy
2005 Prince Miller, DB Byrnes Georgia  
2006 Malcolm Long, QB            Gaffney               South Carolina State      
2007 Richard Mounce, QB Blythewood       Charleston Southern
2008 Stephon Gilmore, CB      South Pointe South Carolina
2009 Marcus Lattimore, RB Byrnes South Carolina
2010 Jadeveon Clowney, DE  South Pointe South Carolina  
2011 Shaq Roland, WR Lexington South Carolina
2012 Tramel Terry, WR Goose Creek Georgia
2013 Jacob Park, QB Stratford Georgia
2014 Matthew Colburn, RB Dutch Fork Wake Forest
2015 Tavien Feaster, RB Spartanburg Clemson
2016 Gage Moloney, QB Northwestern   James Madison
2017 Dakereon Joyner, QB Fort Dorchester South Carolina

Editor’s note: South Carolina’s electric cooperatives are the primary sponsors of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl, North vs. South All-Star game. The South Carolina Athletics Coaches Association organizes the event and is responsible for the selection of South Carolina’s Mr. Football award.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo