Meet the winners of the 2022-2023 Pay it Forward competition:

Grand prize winners:

The University of South Carolina Honors College: Anusha Ghosh of Greenville, Jiya Desai of Fort Mill, Thrisha Mote of Chatanooga, Tennessee and Aastha Arora of Charlotte, North Carolina have each earned a $5,000 cash grand prize for their "No Periods Left Behind" initiative.

Read more about their winning entry here.

Clemson University Honors College: Krishna Patel of Fort Mill and Shreya Tellur of Greenville have each earned a $1,000 cash prize for their plan to address food insecurity among rural, low-income residents.

Read more about their winning entry here.

Dr. Emily England Clyburn Honors College at S.C. State University: Cleotilde Perdew of Ridgely, West Virginia, Jadon Reed of Orangeburg, Rejoice Anaele of Springdale, Maryland, and Princess Tisdale of Summerville have each earned a $1,000 cash prize for their proposal to create a rural entrepreneurship and education pipeline in Orangeburg, St. Matthews and Ehrhardt, S.C.

Read more about their winning entry here.

Pay it Forward is an academic competition for honors college students at the Clemson University, South Carolina State University and the University of South Carolina. It challenges students to find solutions to real-world problems in rural South Carolina. School winners each receive a $1,000 prize and one overall state winning team each wins a $5,000 prize. The winning team's faculty advisor at each school will also receive $1,000. This competition may also help honors college students meet their home institutions graduation requirements for project or paper submission. 

Plus, all participants’ projects/papers have the potential to solve pressing issues in the Palmetto State.

Learn more

Shreya Tellur and Krishna Patel from Clemson University

S.C. State students

Dr. Emily England Clyburn Honors College students Cleotilde Perdew, Jadon Reed, Rejoice Anaele and Princess Tisdale

USC winning students

Grand prize winning team:

Univ. of S.C. students from left to right: Thrisha Mote, Anusha Ghosh, Jiya Desai and Aastha Arora